A-Z Popular Blog Sales Search »
Related Guides

What is a Sales Conversion Rate?

 , updated on
Sales conversion rate is the percentage of visitors, leads or opportunities that achieve a goal such as a sale. The following are common variations.


Conversion rate is occasionally measured in terms of total visitors to a location or website.
Conversion rate = goal achievements / total visitors


It is common for sales teams to measure conversion rate based on sales and leads.
Conversion rate = number of sales / number of leads


Complex sales teams may measure conversion rate in terms of opportunities.
Conversion rate = number of sales / number of opportunities

As a Percentage

Conversion rate is commonly represented as a percentage by multiplying it by 100.


A website has a goal of generating leads. They get 1000 visitors and generate 20 leads. The conversion rate is:
Conversion rate = (20/1000) x 100 = 2%
A sales team has 900 leads in a quarter that result in 34 sales.
Conversion rate = (34/900) x 100 = 3.78%
A complex sales team has 77 opportunities in a month that result in 22 sales.
Conversion rate = (22/77) x 100 = 28.57%
Overview: Sales Conversion Rate
The percentage of visitors, leads or opportunities that achieve a goal such as a sale.
Related Concepts


This is the complete list of articles we have written about sales.
Account Management
Ambiguity Effect
Bargaining Power
Bias For Action
Bliss Point
Business Relationships
Buyer Persona
Call To Action
Choice Architecture
Churn Rate
Closing Techniques
Complex Sales
Concept Selling
Conversion Rate
Curiosity Drive
Customer Lifetime Value
Customer Motivation
Customer Needs Analysis
Customer Persona
Customer Profitability
Customer Relationships
Customer Retention
Customer Satisfaction
Customer Service
Deal Desk
Decoy Effect
Default Effect
Fear Of Missing Out
Figure Of Merit
Final Offer
Hard Selling
Ideal Customer Profile
Lead Generation
Lead Qualification
Low Ball
Marketing Channels
Message Framing
Needs Identification
Negotiation Process
Nudge Theory
Objection Handling
Personal Selling
Pricing Strategy
Product Differentiation
Product Knowledge
Promotion Strategy
Sales Activities
Sales Analysis
Sales Channels
Sales Data
Sales Development
Sales Efficiency
Sales Force Automation
Sales Goals
Sales Management
Sales Metrics
Sales Model
Sales Objectives
Sales Pipeline
Sales Planning
Sales Process
Sales Quotas
Sales Risk
Sales Skills
Sales Strategy
Scarcity Marketing
Soft Selling
Solution Selling
Trade Fairs
Willingness To Pay
If you enjoyed this page, please consider bookmarking Simplicable.


An overview of sales with examples.

Customer Motivation

A list of common customer motivations.

Objections vs Excuses

How to detect the difference between customer objections and excuses.

Needs Identification

A definition of needs identification with examples.


The common types of sales prospecting.

Closing Techniques

A list of sales closing techniques.

Perceived Risk

The common types of perceived risk.

Objection Handling

The definition of objection handling.

Sales Channels

The common types of sales channel.

Marketing Metrics

A list of common ways to measure marketing results.

Business Metrics

A list of common business metrics.

Data-Driven Marketing

A definition of data-driven marketing with examples.

Customer Loyalty

The common types of loyal customer.


A definition of recency with examples for sales, marketing and advertising.

Active Users

The common types of active user metric.

Active Customer

An overview of active customers as a marketing metric.

Marketing Benchmarks

The definition of marketing benchmark with examples.

Cost Per Lead

The formula for cost per lead with calculation examples.

Marketing Efficiency

An overview of marketing efficiency with calculation examples.
The most popular articles on Simplicable in the past day.

New Articles

Recent posts or updates on Simplicable.
Site Map